Rochester MP Mark Reckless nominated as 'pin-up' of the year

Profile image for MariaSoleil

By MariaSoleil | Tuesday, December 18, 2012, 15:54

A CAMPAIGN group has included Rochester and Strood MP Mark Reckless in its nominations for 'pin-up' of the year.

The Taxpayers' Alliance (TPA) has shortlisted four MPs for the award, given to those in power who have "done the right thing by the taxpayer".

Mark Reckless MP was picked for "successfully tabling the amendment to the parliamentary motion which saw the House of Commons demand a cut in the European Union Budget."

Three other politicians have also been nominated for the prize; they are Windsor councillor David Burbage, Stella Creasy MP and Ben Gummer MP.

Cllr David Burbage was chosen for reducing the burden on Windsor taxpayers for the third year in a row, while Stella Creasy, MP for Walthamstow, was picked for urging politicians to "reassess every single item of departmental public spending." 

Promoting tax transparency was the reason for Ipswich MP Ben Gummer's nomination.

The TPA has also highlighted those in power that have failed the taxpayer - dubbed 'pinheads'. Politicians including Energy Secretary Ed Davey, 'I'm A Celebrity... Get Me Out Of Here' contestant Nadine Dorries MP, Lord Patten of Barnes and Leicestershire councillor David Parsons have been nominated. 

Those wishing to vote can do so here. Voting closes on Christmas Eve and winners will be announced before the New Year.



max 4000 characters

Latest Stories in Rochester


Local Vouchers


Local Jobs


Search for...

Min price is bigger than Max price
Min price is bigger than Max price
Min rent is bigger than Max rent